Serial Blasts in Delhi…..are we becoming numb to these attacks???

Posted: September 13, 2008 in India

13 September…..as i opened my eyes for a lazy day ahead I was surprised to have an sms on my mobile saying that i was cordially invited to my friends home for her b’day party….It was a nice surprise since u rarely have a chance to savor some delicious home made food especially when you are in hostel…So i canceled my plans for going to CP and went to the friends home instead….
As i was heading back to my hostel with my friends,i.e after having a fun filled day suddenly my mother called up…what was strange to me was that we had just talked 2 hr back, the first statement that came out of her mouth was were are you?? …and then she told me that Delhi has been rocked by four serial blast’s(as the news came in till the penning of this page there were 9)…I quickly inquired about my near ones in and around Delhi and to my satisfaction every one was lucky…..I broke this news to my friends in the auto about this and what shocked me was that they were least perturbed, similar was the case when I was back in my hostel…all were least concerned some even saying that playing a computer game is more important than this news!!!Just imagine even if its a joke what a time to say this…….
For the past few years India has constantly suffered from these cowardly attacks and these attacks should be condemned and security should be beefed up …..but are we as a citizen ready to change our mentality??? A classic example of this was witnessed by me when I was to catch a train from Delhi station..as 15th august was d nxt day and it was in the shadows of Ahmadabad blasts ..so a stringent checking was going on but the people standing in the queue were feeling uncomfortable..an elderly person shouted ”ARE HUM TO TERRORIST NAHI HAI HAME TO GHAR JANA HAI HAMARE PASS KAHAN BOMB HOGA JANE DO BHAI”…and this was when Ahmadabad and Banglore had just happened!!!!!
Will we only feel the pinch of these blasts when some one close to us goes through the ordeal or we are ourselves a victim???The young generation of today seems immune to these attacks , and from a certain view it can be said that we are mentally strong and unfazed,these incidents wont hamper us and blah blah…..all of them used by politicians to hide their incompetency….but in this present world were distances are being reduced we ourselves are distancing away from each other on an emotional plain……..what best separates us and the machines is our power of discretions and our emotions …and Today in this so called fast times we ourselves becoming like machines !!!…not bothered about others and mending our own ways …it’s like free for all and one for himself in this world then whats the use of reducing the distances when we as a human race our slowly killing ourselves from inside???
Its true that our Police system is heavily over-burdened and under financed but its also our duty to be vigilent and not to blame everything on the system were every one of us is an integral part to it….if we want security then we have to pay some price for it,in terms of having to wait a little longer in the queues and respecting the law and the law enforcers too…. then only can we prevent Ahmadabad and Delhi from happening….till then feel lucky……I for myself would have loved to take someone’s place who has passed away(due to my personal feelins 🙂 )but we should really get hold of the slip we are going through…as a society!!!!And plz if have come here then do observe a min of silence at 6:30 on the 20th for those who are not lucky as we were!!

Comments
  1. kanishkguru says:

    ab kya khaen yar !! is par kuchh samjh me nahi aaraha hai
    fir bhi kuchh likha hai aur yahin se inspierd ho kar

    ME-THE STUPID COMMON MAN

  2. 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦

  3. 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 ….wat 2 commnt on dis…

    KilL ThoSe BuLlShIt PrSn’S BehInD TheSE AtTacK

  4. Madhu Pande says:

    IT is great to see a sensitive person who feels the pain and sufferings, I admire your writing and feelings

    GOD Bless you

Leave a comment